History & Heritage

About Waterhall

Historic Guildford

Guildford is one of three towns established in 1829, when Western Australia was settled, and its plan was based on the model of an English country town. The area is enclosed on a peninsular, formed by the Swan and Helena Rivers and was named by Captain James Stirling after his father-in-law’s lectorate in Surrey, England. As the furthest navigable point on the Swan River, Guildford became an inland port, providing the main link between Perth and the country districts. In 1851 it became a convict ticket-of-leave hiring depot and steamboats made their debut in 1857.

Guildford became a thriving market town and commercial centre. The town was declared a municipality in 1871 and granted its own crest of anchor, sheaf and grapes.


Guildford was declared a Historic Town in 1984 and four heritage trails run through its streets and parks. Its historical buildings, rich heritage and proximity to the Swan Valley, continue to charm the thousands of tourists who visit the area each year.

Waterhall Shopping Centre

The Waterfall logo-mark illustration was chosen to visually portray the proud colonial past of Guildford.


The sailing boat is a direct reference to the first fleet of ships that discovered Western Australia and established the “Swan River Connolly” —With particular reference to the settlement and establishment of Guildford by Governor James Stirling.


The mark’s curves and sharp rectangular lines are a deliberate correlation to the architecture of the building which also reflects Guildford’s past.